Book Reviews

Book Review: The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper

RATING 4/5

This is one of those books that you can’t read in public without drawing attention to yourself. A bit like the main character Melody who involuntarily bursts into song at inappropriate moments, I had a fair few occasions of bursting into public laughter and a good few sniffles and sobs as well.
BLURB:
Fans of Jojo Moyes and Marian Keyes will love THE SONGS OF US by Emma Cooper, a charming, funny and heartbreaking novel of love, loss and what it means to be a family.
If Melody hadn’t run out of de-icer that day, she would never have slipped and banged her head. She wouldn’t be left with a condition that makes her sing when she’s nervous. And she definitely wouldn’t have belted out the Arctic Monkeys’ ‘I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor’ in assembly at her son’s school.
If Dev hadn’t taken the kids to the zoo that day, then the accident wouldn’t have happened. He wouldn’t have left Flynn and Rose without a dad. Or shattered the love of his life’s heart.
But if they hadn’t seen the missing person report that day, they might never have taken the trip to Cornwall. And, in the last place they expected, discovered what it really means to be ‘Us’.
REVIEW:
The Songs of Us is a beautiful, life affirming and poignant novel. I don’t think I have ever loved a bunch of characters quite as much as I did these. The relationships between them are also incredibly heart warming and real.
Emma Cooper has a wonderful ability to show life in all it’s sad, testing, imperfect and ridiculous reality, whilst also revealing the joy and hilarity which weaves through the storylines of our lives. And she captures motherhood so perfectly, the feelings, pressures, joy – it’s a true celebration of this too. The love story is also stunning… what a wonderful premise.
There are sections that are so beautifully written, they take you right there with the characters – the tastes, smells and sights pulling you in.
I particularly loved how the tuning of instruments and the last bars of a song’s introduction (inside her head) marked a coming outburst, and would have Melody legging it out of some situations. The choice and timing of some of the songs is true hilarious genius!
Ultimately, I think this book is a gem and will be lapped up. The title and cover alone had me itching to read it! I laughed, sighed, sobbed and smiled my way through the pages. It hooked me and I loved it!
WOULD I RECOMMEND IT?
Absolutely!
The Songs of Us will be released on Kindle on 31st May 2018 and in paperback on 20th September 2018. For more information about the book and author visit here.

Thank you to NetGalley for my advance reader copy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s